What to Do After an Out-of-State Car Accident in Raleigh
Many people think that car accidents that happen out of their home state will become a major hassle. While no accident should be taken lightly, the laws that govern people’s responsibilities after an accident are very similar across the country. If you have been involved in an accident and are now wondering what to do after an out-of-state car accident in Raleigh, consult an experienced car accident lawyer that can help.
By following a few easy steps and contacting an attorney, you can both protect yourself against legal trouble and gather information necessary to pursue a claim for your property damages and injuries.
Steps to Take Following an Accident
If someone is wondering what to do after an out-of-state car accident in Raleigh, their first step should be to move their car into a safe place. They should only do this if they are relatively uninjured and the car can be moved without causing any further damage. Next, the person should make sure to get medical assistance to everyone who needs it. All states have a law requiring that people assist others in danger after an accident if they are able.
After making sure that everyone is okay and has been assisted, it is important to call the police. Calling the police following an accident is mandatory but it can also be helpful because the police report can be used in a personal injury case.
Those involved in an accident should also make sure to document the accident in great detail. Taking photographs of the vehicles involved in the accident, and also taking photographs of where the accident took place, can also help bolster a person’s claim. Lastly, it is imperative that an individual gets in touch with a car accident attorney and file their personal injury claim. The individual should first file a claim with their own insurance company in order to recover damages but, they must file a claim with the at-fault driver’s company.
Insurance Policy Coverage Minimums
All states have different minimum coverage levels that drivers are required to carry on their policies. For example, Virginia requires that car insurance policies protect their owners with a minimum of $25,000 bodily injury protection and $20,000 property damage liability.
In contrast, North Carolina increases these requirements to $30,000 for bodily injuries and $25,000 for property damage. This creates the issue of a person driving in another state without carrying the minimum required insurance levels for that state. Thankfully, insurance companies adjust their policies accordingly and will apply the minimum level of coverage to any car in an accident where the local requirements are greater than the coverage provided in their insured’s policy.
Contacting an Attorney
Car accidents can be overwhelming, and you may be wondering what to do after an out-of-state car accident in Raleigh. All in all, there is nothing additional to fear about getting into an accident in another state. Even if you carry only the minimum level of insurance for your state, any policy will be ramped up to the minimum in the state where the accident happens.
By following the steps outlined above, you can protect both yourself and other people, and be well on your way to getting your life back to normal.