What is a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Greenville?
In a nutshell, workers’ compensation helps replace the lost wages and cover the medical expenses of those injured in job-related accidents. It is important to report any such injury to your employer in the form of a written report within 30 days of the incident. If you are too badly hurt to report the injury yourself, a family member or healthcare provider may report the injury on your behalf.
If you are injured on the job, you should not head to your own doctor for treatment. Since you are covered under workers’ compensation laws, you must instead report to a doctor of your employer’s choosing, unless the situation is an emergency. If you find yourself asking what a workers’ compensation claim in Greenville is, speak with a distinguished workers’ benefits attorney.
Greenville Workers’ Compensation Coverage
In North Carolina, most employers employing three or more workers must provide workers’ compensation for their employees. Exceptions include:
- Domestic servants employed by a household
- Farm laborers with fewer than ten full-time workers employed by the same employer
- Railroad employees
Employees vs. Independent Contractors
Employers are not required to carry workers’ compensation insurance for independent contractors. However, the North Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC)—which oversees the workers’ compensation program in the state—may analyze the conditions under which a supposed independent contractor worked. If the Commission find that they met the criteria for an employee, the employer may prove liable for workers’ compensation claims.
What is a Benefits Disagreement?
Employers and workers often disagree on how badly the worker is injured and whether the worker is entitled to benefits. These disagreements may be heard and settled by the NCIC. Any worker going before a NCIC hearing may need a workers’ compensation attorney to represent them.
Understanding Eligibility for Lost Wage Compensation
Workers are not eligible for lost wage compensation until they have been off the job for at least seven days. Should the disability extend beyond 21 days, the injured worker would receive compensation for the first week of wages lost, but not until the 21-day period is up. The employee receives lost wage benefits until they are well enough to return to work, at a rate of two-thirds of the worker’s weekly wage that cannot exceed $987 per week. Sometimes, a worker can no longer perform the job they had prior to their accident. If their employer does not have another job the worker can do, the state of North Carolina offers vocational retraining.
How a Greenville Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Can Help
Workers’ compensation rules are complicated, but a skilled attorney could help guide you through the process. If your employer unfairly denies your claim or incorrectly classifies you as an independent contractor who is ineligible for workers’ compensation, your lawyer could thoroughly investigate your situation and work to have your true status verified.
After suffering an injury on the job, you may have many questions about what exactly a workers’ compensation claim in Greenville entails. Call today to let a Greenville workers’ compensation lawyer review your case and help you identify your options.